Testimonial Letters

Here’s what our happy customers are saying…

Pariseau Letter
LeBlanc Letter
Kutner Letter
Beck Letter
Minh Do Letter
Noack Letter
Venverloh Letter
Culpepper Letter
Dominick Letter

 

angies-list-reviews-image2

 

 

  • Chaplin Project 08/04/2017
    Work Completed Date: Jan. 8th 2017
    Category: Electrical, Lighting, Remodeling - General, Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
    Overall: A
    Price: A
    Quality: A
    Responsiveness: A
    Punctuality: A
    Professionalism: A
    Description of Work: Complete kitchen remodel to include demolition of two existing walls and a lowered ceiling, addition of a walk-in pantry complete with shelving and a pocket door, installation of new gas line for stove, new lighting and electrical fixtures, new plumbing for kitchen sink and disposal, new cabinetry, new flooring, and installation of new appliances.
    Member Comments:

    I wanted this review to be comprehensive so others could learn from our experience and so it is much longer than most of the other reviews. When we finally got serious about getting our kitchen remodeled we contacted three different companies based on several factors, including their ratings and reviews on Angie’s List. Each company visited our home and provided a written estimate for the project. Ultimately, we chose Westphall Remodeling. Granted they came in with the highest bid, but there was little doubt that we would be getting a very high level of service and quality craftsmanship. From the beginning, Brad was very helpful in offering ideas and suggestions about how we could improve our kitchen space. We had a general idea of what we wanted to do and Brad took it a step further and provided sketches of how he envisioned the space might look with suggestions for lighting and other features that might compliment the design and layout of the project. We met several times prior to any work starting to plan the project. Brad guided us through the timeline, describing major milestones along the way that included demo work, when the cabinets would come in, when the counter-top would be installed, and when plumbing and electrical work would be done. He was very patient with us as we had never personally done any type of remodeling projects. However much of my professional work includes understanding construction projects and the timelines involved. As we discussed the details of the project, we began to get a clearer picture as to how long the entire project would take. We started out thinking it would be two to three weeks from demo to finish, but soon learned that five weeks was more realistic. The custom cabinet lead time would be 6-8 weeks from the time the order went in until the time the cabinets would be installed. Everything else seemed to revolve around that. Brad explained that the demo and then prep work prior to the cabinets being installed would be about 3 weeks. Once the cabinets came in, everything else would follow in a pretty good cadence. The day the demo work began, Brad introduced us to his newly hired project manager, Justin. He would be working with us throughout the project each day keeping us informed every step along the way and coordinating all the details that go into managing a remodeling project. True to his word, Justin was on site every day managing each phase of the project, coordinating the efforts of the various trades as they completed their work, and most importantly, keeping us informed about what was going on and what was coming next. The first week was a flurry of activity as they completed the demo and began to prep for drywall, painting, and tile installation. The second week went equally well as contractors where on site each day completing each of those things. The third and fourth weeks, things seemed to slow down as we waited for cabinet installation and then counter-top fabrication. There was some custom cabinet work that was unforeseen at the beginning of the project due to electrical infrastructure that was discovered during the demo phase. We considered options and elected to go with the custom cabinet work as a solution. This increased costs some, but the end result was worth it. The cabinet makers did an amazing job incorporating fully enclosed chases for the electrical fixtures in the main section of the kitchen cabinets and counter. As planned, once the cabinets arrived there was a pause as the counter-top was fabricated. After the counter-top was installed, the pace of the project picked back up again. Justin and Brad managed the final stages very well, coordinating plumbers, electricians, and cabinet makers in a very focused effort to finish things up quickly. There were a couple of things that came up that required customization and attention to detail. Brad embraced those challenges and we worked through them with his experienced guidance. I felt it was more of a collaborative effort than a general contractor telling me what the only solution was. We fully expected there would be unforeseen obstacles and changes to the project and we budgeted accordingly. At the end of the day, those changes worked out to about a 6% increase from the original quote. Some of those changes resulted from our decisions to upgrade features and fixtures from what Westphall had budgeted into the quote. For example, we chose quartzite over a granite counter-top as we discovered it on our journey to getting the kitchen of our dreams. Since I work from a home office, one thing I was grateful for during the project was that other than the overhead light fixture in the living room, and of course the lighting in the kitchen, we never experienced any interruptions to electricity. The water was shut off for only very short periods of time as the plumbing was demo’d and then during the installation of the kitchen faucet. The plumbers installed a custom manifold as they encountered a water supply pipe set up that was outside of normal code standards. The project was completed this week and we are moving into our new kitchen. We are stunned at how much of a difference it makes to our home and could not have dreamed of a better outcome. We are already starting to plan our next project and Westphall Remodeling is at the top of our list because of the outstanding work they did on this project.

  • Thomas Project 11/08/2014
    Work Completed Date: Jul. 11th 2014
    Category: Remodeling - General
    Overall: A
    Price: A
    Quality: A
    Responsiveness: A
    Punctuality: A
    Professionalism: A
    Description of Work: Built a free-standing workshop, 12 x 20 ft, with extensive wiring
    Member Comments:

    From the beginning Brad was an absolute professional, He provided us with an itemized detail of what he would provide and cost of materials and labor. We had to abide by HOA regulations and Brad worked with us to provide floor plans, drawing of the elevation, and specifics for our HOA committee. He also obtained all permits and arranged for the inspections. Work began on time and everything was perfectly timed. From foundation to roof, the work was of exceptional quality. The crew was very careful not to disturb any more than absolutely necessary and they cleaned the work site every evening before departing. Everyone was respectful of our home and our time. No corners were cut and Brad personally made sure that everything was completed to perfection. In fact, he had the painting done three times before he was satisfied; we were satisfied after the first time! In summary, we were complete with the work. It surpassed our expectations. Brad and his entire office and crew were a pleasure to deal with. We will definitely call them again for future needs.

  • Lippert Project 07/25/2014
    Work Completed Date: May. 15th 2014
    Category: Remodeling - General, Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
    Overall: A
    Price: A
    Quality: A
    Responsiveness: A
    Punctuality: A
    Professionalism: A
    Description of Work: Westphall designed & remodeled our master bathroom--it's gorgeous!
    Member Comments:

    Westphall Remodeling designed & remodeled our master bathroom.  The results exceeded our expectations, and it’s such a pleasure using our beautiful new space! Brad is knowledgeable, very responsive, communicates daily and effectively, and fulfilled all commitments.  He listens well and offered great design suggestions that significantly improved on our ideas. Brad knows the capabilities of each of his crews–they were skilled, polite, and cleaned up at the end of each day so we could continue to use our nearby living spaces. Brad’s estimates were exactly on-target.  He finished the work on the EXACT day he’d promised! Best of all, Brad proved to us that we can trust him; he’s a man of his word. 
    We’ll definitely work with Brad on our next remodeling project!

  • Wieters Project 07/24/2014
    Work Completed Date: Jul. 11th 2014
    Category: Closets, Remodeling - General, Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
    Overall: A
    Price: A
    Quality: A
    Responsiveness: A
    Punctuality: A
    Professionalism: A
    Description of Work: Brad Westphal helped design and construct a complete remodel of our Master Bedroom, bath and closet as well as a laundry room. The rooms went from tiny to grand and from old and drab to new, exciting and gorgeous all while staying within the style and feel of the rest of the home.
    Member Comments:

    Brad was easy to work with from the beginning. My wife and I bought the Texas home while still living in California. We had to fly in to town to close on the house and will just a little notice Brad was able to meet us on the one day were available to do a complete walkthrough of the house and the areas we felt we wanted changed. Brad introduced himself, provided some background and got right to work. His enthusiasm and growing excitement about working on our project and making it something special is what sold us on going with Brad over our other potential candidates. He quickly developed rough drawings and an initial proposal. He was more than happy to work with us on plan changes as well as budget concerns to the point of explaining what items are good to save on and which once we shouldn’t skimp on.

    Once final blue prints were approved by all, we got a final proposal and a start date and this all occurred within about 10 days of our first meeting. He works fast which is the way I like it as I am the same way.

    I moved to the new house six weeks ahead of my wife so I was there for demo day one. I was amazed at their speed and efficiency as well as their desire to keep the area clean at the end of each day. The demo of course created quite a bit of dust and Brad was consistently concerned about my comfort and the overall cleanliness of the house, but I convinced him that there was no point….Construction means dust and I could live with it to get this beautiful renovation done.

    As it is with any project of this scale we immediately had challenges arise with support beams and structural walls, plumbing and electrical not place originally by code. Many of these items could have been very expensive but Brad explained them all to me, explained what he was going to do to solve the challenges and made the challenges as painless to me and my wallet as possible so that we could remain within our overall budget. Being quite the DIY type myself I jumped in where ever I could to put my good labor skills to work and Brad was always willing to allow it so as to save me money which is very rare these days with General Contractors.

    Brad’s original estimates for time were made even with all of the unforeseen challenges and our original budget was met within a couple thousand dollars which truly was amazing considering all that had to be done.

    His crews were all very nice, pleasant, very communicative and professional. I enjoyed them all and had some very nice conversations with many of them. Brad Works fast and tirelessly and always answers his phone or returned any call I made promptly. If ever I had a concern he was quick to listen, and if need be resolve the concern via explanation, education, or correction. That too is a hard commodity to find in the GC world of today. Brad is actually a profectionist in the nicest sense.

    I honestly can’t say enough about Brad and his crews and the work they performed. The place looks outstanding and in the words of my wife “This…is what I have always wanted, I love my home” says it all. After hanging with Brad for 8 weeks during our complete Demo and rebuild I can honestly say I will seek out his advice first on any future construction work whether he does the work or not and will refer him to everyone I know looking for a renovation or building project to undertake.

    The best parts of this experience were first and foremost a very beautiful and professionaly done Renovation, a completely satisfied WIFE, and I feel I made a friend in Brad. He and his wife really are good people. We couldn’t have recieved a better Texas Welcome!

  • Kiessling Project 01/14/2014
    Work Completed Date: Jul. 30th 2013
    Category: Electrical, Heating & A/C, Lighting, Remodeling - General, Builders - Homes, Carpentry - Woodworking, Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom, Remodeling - Sunrooms & Patio Enclosures
    Overall: A
    Price: A
    Quality: A
    Responsiveness: A
    Punctuality: A
    Professionalism: A
    Description of Work: Westphall Remodeling renovated the kitchen, den, and rear entry way to the house. Additionally they enclosed the first floor patio and added a second floor guestroom and bathroom over the patio and constructed the stairway leading up to the second floor, as well as adding the air conditioning system and electrical and lighting system for this area.
    Member Comments:

    The work was done ahead of schedule and within cost. Plans were developed and work permits procured in an expeditious manner.  Work progressed rapidly with minimal disruption to the areas of the house not undergoing renovation.  Brad Westphall, the company owner was personally involved in the day-to-day construction.  This made incorporating modifications and adjusting to unanticipated issues and surprised found in any 1960’s  house as floors, walls, and ceiling were opened to the renovation.  Necessary adjustments were quickly incorporated as Brad was always available to discuss such instances within one-day or less. His presence also insured that there were no delays in the overall work.  Materials and appropriate workers were always on-hand when the work was to be done, even in this case when the project progressed ahead of schedule.  The rapid progress did not sacrifice quality control.  Brad invariably insured that work was done to standard and as well as if my house were his own.  Seldom did I note anything that he had not already taken action on.  He always apprised me of the progress throughout and took the time to conduct joint inspections with me through project completion. Westphall Remodeling was the fourth contractor I had considered to do the work.  My decision to hire Westphall was essentially made on the first day we discussed the project; he was straight forward and exceptionally responsive in his proposals and response to questions. I intend to hire Westphall when I renovate the other portion of this house.

  • Rarick Project 11/18/2013
    Work Completed Date: Nov. 18th 2013
    Category: Remodeling - General
    Overall: A
    Price: A
    Quality: A
    Responsiveness: A
    Punctuality: A
    Professionalism: A
    Description of Work: I used Westphall Remodeling to convert an attached garage into a den and separate mud room entry and also to enclose a separate entry to use as a wine storage closet. Work included removing garage doors and replacing with windows, relocating the people access door, poring new concrete over the existing slab, polishing and staining the new concrete and installing a refrigeration unit in the new wine storage space and applying stucco to new exterior wall sections to match existing stucco.
    Member Comments:

    The work went very well.  I am really pleased with the results.  The job was performed on budget, work was done timely and is high quality.  Brad Westphall was excellent to work with and I particularly liked the way he kept me informed about the status of various subcontractors who performed some of the work.  I always was informed about the schedule of who to expect at my home, the time they would arrive and what they would be doing.  Brad personally came on a daily basis to make sure the work was meeting my expectations and was on schedule.  I never felt as though I had to initiate communication about status.  And the work crew was good about cleaning up the work area each day before they departed.  I highly recommend Westphall Remodeling and would not hesitate to use them again.